NO COUNTRY FOR WOMEN

​What causes the average looking gentlemen of this traditionally bounded Indian society to turn into a scavenger at night?

Is the smell of a woman’s skin the only cause of lust and subsequent transformation of a man into a potential rapist?
In this society where we censor women in every possible way,judge them for putting on a western attire and blame it for being the sole cause for degradation of our so called culture and societal norms; aren’t we, the so called masculine clan practicing the same with eve teasing and molestation inspired for fun sake and togetherness which is  also misinterpreted for westernisation?
A well tamed dog can turn into wolf, once  its chain has been opened  was very well proven once again by the technically sound city Bengaluru on that horrific night of New Year Eve.

Guess this incident very well underlined the quote “NO COUNTRY FOR WOMEN” and added a glorifying scar to the city for almost making it to  the list of potential rapist cities.
The vaccine to this is far from reach with even the top leaders and police authorities denying the facts and marking it as a mere heat of the moment action on that fateful night.
To be honest, fighting for this is irrational in a country, where even the day of Nirbhaya’s death is only being marked as an anniversary on the calendar with no or very little change being seen so far.
These incidents are many in number with only a few being reported as seen  in concern with my own state where the memory of a girl being molested on the streets of Guwahati still fills me with grief, or even a recent example on this 25th December in my very own town,Tezpur where a girl reported of a similar  incident of attempted molestation outside  the church – 

“We were moving with the crowd to the exit, when all of a sudden the push and pull increased, as I was trying to make my way out, I could feel someone touching my back, I was left stunned”.
The most saddening part of this being the psychological fear when asked to report – ‘I don’t want to create a scene, my parents won’t let me go out of my house or this wil bring shame to me and my family’.
Although my optimistic ending will be –

“until and unless we put our little efforts  to tackle this with some more strict rules”..

But the fear of that dog turning into a wolf when unchained, still haunts.

It vents out the fear.. of putting up posts that merely matter.

The fear to Question the one who replies that I am not responsible and justifies for every wrong action.

The fear of ‘will this issue be raised in the Parliament by the opposition with the same mindset as that of demonetization?’

The fear of being called inhumane if I cage my daughters as the last measure of protection.

The fear, of living in society which would continue to say “Men are superior to women?”.

One thought on “NO COUNTRY FOR WOMEN

Leave a comment